man eaters camp tsavo

Date visited: April 2009

Location:Tsavo

Drive:Lovely drive all the way (save for the Athi River section) with lovely scenic landscapes. One gets tempted often to stop and just take it all in.  The speed limit is 100Kph. The Man Eaters camp is about 70kms from Mtito Andei opposite the Tsavo West gate and next to Patterson’s Camp. 

Hospitality:The staff here isn’t as friendly as the team at Manyatta Camp and they are also lacking in training. They are also quite slow especially noting that my boyfriend and I were the only guests at the camp.  

Food:Very very disappointing…I can’t say enough how I didn’t enjoy my food throughout my stay there. The highlight of this trip was our game drive to Tsavo West and a lunch stop at Kilaguni Serena where we ate like people who hadn’t seen food in ages. We barely said a word to each other. Lol.

Rooms:Amazing, amazing, amazing…comfortable bed…the owners maintain the excellent rustic/African theme at Manyatta Camp. All 34 rooms overlook the Tsavo River and set the scene for a relaxing time away. Lights go off at 10.30pm and you are left with a lamp and there is nothing better than the silence while you listen to the sound of the river.  

Game Drives: Both Tsavo East and Tsavo West gates are very close by and you can go on a guided tour drive or a self drive. The parks are clearly marked and are easy to get around. You will need a 4WD vehicle though.  

Rating: Three and a half stars (the food and hospitality at the camp need to be looked into but otherwise a lovely getaway)

Rate-o-meter:  

1 star – Eeewwww!
2 stars – consider another business, basket weaving maybe…
3 stars – alright, I probably tipped the change in my wallet
4 stars – you delivered and I tipped willingly and generously
5 stars – are you kidding me, you rock, will be back!
6 stars – it’ll be hard to keep me away.

About this entry